Central Africa fosters growth of digital economy

digital economy 2From JEAN KASSONGO in Kinshasa, DRC
KINSHASA, (CAJ News) – CENTRAL Africa’s digital transformation ambitions have received a major boost with the adoption of model laws on telecommunications, cyber security and the regulatory framework.
Member countries of the Central African Economic Community (ECCAS) – supported by the Economic Commission for Africa and the International Telecommunications Union – have adopted the laws that govern cross-border interconnection.
Such is the outcome of a session of the meeting of Ministers of Posts and Telecommunications, which has concluded in Brazzaville, Congo.
The adoption is the outcome of a long process, initiated in 2011.
The harmonized legal framework is an essential frame of reference propitious for the development of ICTs through a sound, transparent and robust regulation, but especially a tremendous catalyst for attracting investors to help the sub-region successfully achieve digital transformation.
It is envisaged the adoption would contribute to bolster citizen’s confidence in using ICTs and electronic communication services and foster the development of a digital economy or other online transactions while ensuring protection for personal data.
ECCAS members are Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, DRC, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé and Príncipe and Rwanda.
CAJ News

Short URL: http://cajnewsafrica.com/?p=16860

Posted by on Dec 7 2016. Filed under Broadband, Finance, Investing, Technology. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.