SA star contests FIFA Goal of the Year Award

JOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – A STUNNING effort South African midfielder Hlompo Kekana scored against Cameroon in March is among goals nominated for the FIFA Puskás Award 2016.

The award recognize the best goal scored between September 2015 and September 2016.

Kekana showed great vision, technique and power when he scored from his own half in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Cameroon.

“With trademark tenacity, Kekana won the ball from Cameroon’s Tony Tchani, looked up, and hit a powerful, gliding effort over stranded ‘keeper Ndy Assembe,” FIFA stated.

The match ended 2-2.

Kekana recently captained his side Mamelodi Sundowns as they were crowned African champions.

Meanwhile, his effort in national team colours will contest with nine other goals for the FIFA Puskás Award 2016.

Mario Gaspar (Spain), Marlone (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina) , Neymar (Brazil), Mohd Faiz Subri (Malaysia), Hal Robson-Kanu (Wales), Daniuska Rodríguez (Venezuela), Simon Skrabb (Finland) and Saúl Ñíguez (Spain).

The prize will be awarded to the scorer of the Goal of the Year at The Best FIFA Football Awards™, to be held on January 9, 2017 in Zurich.
CAJ News

Short URL:

Posted by on Nov 21 2016. Filed under Africa & World, Football, National, Regional, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.