AFCON 2017 participants confirmed


Africa Cup of Nations trophy

JOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – THE 16 teams to participate in next year’s Total Africa Cup of Nations have been confirmed.

Besides host nation Gabon, the list includes Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, holders Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Uganda, which marks a return after 38 years in the doldrums, and Togo qualified as the two best runners-up.

Guinea-Bissau will be the only newcomer at next year’s finals.

Next year’s finals will be the first since Total, the energy group, assumed a partnership as the Confederation of African Football main sponsor.

Orange, the mobile network operator, are current sponsors.
CAJ News

Short URL:

Posted by on Sep 5 2016. Filed under Football. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.