SADC competitions authorities ink MoU

SADC competitions authorityGIFT NDOLWANE
JOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – SOME competition authorities in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) have signed a landmark a landmark Memorandum of Understanding strengthens the effective enforcement of competition law in each of the member state.

The eight members are Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania and Zambia.

The MOU follows the signing of the SADC Declaration on Regional Cooperation in Competition and Consumer Policies of 2009 by SADC heads of state committing SADC countries to cooperate in the areas of competition and consumer protection.

“The MOU provides a framework for cooperation in competition enforcement within the SADC region and we are delighted to be part of this historic initiative,” said South Africa’s Competition Commissioner, Tembinkosi Bonakele.

Other SADC members are Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius and Zimbabwe.

– CAJ News

Short URL:

Posted by on Jun 6 2016. Filed under Featured, Finance, Investing, National, Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.