Trio shortlisted for Etisalat literature accolade

Book.From OKORO CHINEDU in Lagos, Nigeria

LAGOS, (CAJ News) – THREE writers have been shortlisted for the Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015.

These are Fiston Mwanza Mujila, Penny Busetto and Rehana Rossouw.

They are from Democratic Republic of Congo and South Africa (2) respectively.

Their works are Tram 83, The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself and What Will People Say? respectively.

A three-member judging panel drew the shortlist.

Chair of judges, Professor Ato Quayson, said the variety of styles and subject matter of the books on this year’s Etisalat Prize for Literature shortlist revealed the vitality of contemporary African literature.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature, a brainchild of the mobile network operator with a presence in Nigeria, is the first pan-African Prize that is open solely to debut fiction writers from African countries.

Now in its third year, it is acknowledged as the most prestigious literary prize for African fiction.

The winner of the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature will be announced in March and will receive £15 000 among other prizes.

The prize also includes an Etisalat sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland. – CAJ News

Short URL:

Posted by on Dec 23 2015. Filed under Featured. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.