Nominees for CAF-Glow Awards revealed

GLO-CAF AwardsFrom EMEKA OKONKWO in Abuja, Nigeria

ABUJA, (CAJ News) – NOMINEES for the remaining categories for the 2015  Glo-Confederation of African Football Awards have been disclosed in Abuja.

The categories are Women Player of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Most Promising Talent, Coach of the Year, Referee of the Year, African Legend, National Team of the Year, Women National Team of the Year, Club
of the Year, Platinum Award.

The list has been unveiled at press conference attended by CAF Excutive member Anjorin Moucharafou and Glo representatives.

Nigeria dominates the nominations, most prominently the U17 and U-23 sides set to battle for the National Team of the Year award. Kelechi Nwakali and Victor Osimhen are nominated for the Junior Player of the Year accolade. Azubuike Okechukwu and Etebo Oghenekaro will battle for the Most Promising Talent.

Glo, the mobile network operator, sponsors the awards and the gala dinner where the winners will be announced.

The Glo-CAF AWards Gala Dinner is scheduled for January 7 in Abuja.

Votes from the CAF Footbal and Media Committees, except Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote, will decide the winner.

The Referee of the Year Award will be decided by the votes of CAF Refereeing Committee.

Nominees for the CAF footballer of the Year and local-based Footballer of the Year were announced earlier. – CAJ News
Below are the categorises and nominees

Women Player of the Year
• Gabrielle Onguéné, Cameroon
• Gaelle Enganamouit, Cameroon
• Ngozi Ebere, Nigeria
• N’rehy Tia Ines, Cote d’Ivoire
• Portia Boakye, Ghana

Youth Player of the Year
• Adama Traore, Mali
• Kelechi Nwakali, Nigeria
• Samuel Diarra, Mali
• Victor Osimhen, Nigeria
• Yaw Yeboah, Ghana

Most Promising Talent
• Azubuike Okechukwu, Nigeria
• Etebo Oghenekaro, Nigeria
• Djigui Diarra, Mali
• Mahmoud Abdelmonem ‘kahraba’, Egypt
• Zinedine Ferhat, Algeria

Coach of the Year
• Baye Ba, Mali, U17
• Emmanuel Amunike, Nigeria U17
• Fawzi Benzarti, Etoile Sportive de Sahel
• Hervé Renard, Cote d’ivore
• Patrice Carteron, TP Mazembe

Referee of the Year
• Alioum Neant, Cameroon
• Bakary Papa GASSAMA, Gambia
• Eric Arnaud OTOGO CASTANE, Gabon
• Ghead Zaglol GRISHA, Egypt
• Janny SIKAZWE, Zambia

African Legend
• Charles Kumi Gyamfi, Ghana
• Samuel Mbappé Léppé, Cameroon

National Team of the Year
• Cote d’Ivoire
• Ghana
• Mali U17
• Nigeria U17
• Nigeria U-23

Women National Team of the Year
• Ghana
• Cameroon
• South Africa
• Zimbabwe

Club of the Year
• USM Algers , Algeria
• TP Mazembe, DR Congo
• Orlando Pirates, South Africa
• Etoile Sportive du Sahel, Tunisia – CAJ News

Short URL:

Posted by on Dec 14 2015. Filed under Africa & World, Featured, Football, National, Regional, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry
  • CUSP Consulting

    Zuma is accelerating his move towards “state capitalism”. He is trading the free market’s business confedence for Chinese investment and has removed the last barrier, Treasury, to capturing the state for an ideological experiment.

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.