Entries open for Africa’s top literature prize

Songeziwe Mahlangu (South Africa)  winner of  second year of the prize with his novel, Penumbra.

Songeziwe Mahlangu (South Africa) winner of second year of the prize with his novel, Penumbra.

From OKORO CHINEDU in Lagos, Nigeria
LAGOS, (CAJ News) – ENTRIES for this year Etisalat Prize for Literature, which celebrates debut African writers of published fiction, are now open.

The competition is the brainchild of Etisalat, Nigeria’s
telecommunications company.

Matthew Willsher, the Chief Executive Officer, Etisalat Nigeria, said the Etisalat Prize for Literature served as a platform for the discovery of new creative writing talents out of the African continent.

The executive highlighted that following the success of the second
edition, the literary community was eagerly awaiting the third edition.

NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe) won the maiden edition with her highly
celebrated debut novel, We Need New Names, while Songeziwe Mahlangu (South Africa) emerged winner of the second year of the prize with his novel, Penumbra.

The Judging panel for the 2015 edition will be chaired by Professor Ato Quayson, a Professor of English and inaugural Director of the Centre for Diaspora Studies at the University of Toronto; alongside Molara Wood, writer, blogger, journalist, critic and editor and Zukiswa Wanner, author of The Madams and Men of the South.

The Judges will develop a list of nine novels and shortlist three novels before finally selecting a winner.

Submission of entries would close on August 27.

The winner receives a cash prize of £15 000 in addition to a fellowship at the prestigious University of East Anglia under the mentorship of award-winning author, Professor Giles Foden. The winner will also receive a sponsored three-city book tour while the two other shortlisted writers will receive a sponsored two-city book tour to promote their books.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature also supports publishers by purchasing 1000 copies of the shortlisted books for distribution within the continent.

Entries must be a writer’s first work of fiction of over 30 000 words, and published within the last 24 months.

The Etisalat Prize will also launch the online-based flash fiction prize later in the year to engage the rising stars of fiction.

– CAJ News

Short URL: http://cajnewsafrica.com/?p=6901

Posted by on Jul 20 2015. Filed under Africa & World, Featured. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.