African Games holders in Group of Death

CAF logo

CAF logo

by Tintswalo Baloyi
JOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – THE Confederation of African Football has conducted the draw for the African Games scheduled for September in Congo.

A total of 16 teams consisting of eight each for the men’s and women’s event have been pooled at an event held at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

For the men’s event, Burkina Faso, Congo, Sudan and Zimbabwe have been drawn in group A while Egypt, defending champions Ghana, Nigeria and Senegal will compete what is anticipated to be a tightly-contested Group B.

For the women’s edition, Congo, Ivory Coast, Nigeria and Tanzania are in Group A.

Group B, arguably the “Group of Death” ,consists of champions Cameroon, Ghana, Egypt and South Africa.

The winners and runner up of each group will qualify for the semis, with the eventual progressing to the final.

The final tournament will be held from 3-18 September 2015 in Brazzaville.

– CAJ News

Short URL:

Posted by on Jul 9 2015. Filed under Africa & World, Football, News, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.