Sundowns crowned Nedbank Cup champions

Sundowns crowned Nedbank Cup champions

Sundowns crowned Nedbank Cup champions

from MTHULISI SIBANDA in Port Elizabeth, South Africa
PORT ELIZABETH, (CAJ News) – MAMELODI Sundowns have been crowned the Nedbank Cup champions after a 4-3 penalty shoot-out victory over Ajax Cape Town at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

By winning the final, Sundowns banked R7 million while the runners pocketed R2,5 million for their efforts.

The teams finished goalless in regulation time characterized by few scoring opportunities.

Extra time also failed to produce a winner as did the penalty shootout which ended 3-3.

Franklin Cale missed in sudden-death.

Up stepped Bongani Zungu to send Ansi Jaakkola the wrong way and hand Downs the trophy.

Paulse-scores; Laffor scores; Nkoana misses; Kekana misses; Scott misses; Malajila misses; Graham scores; Mashaba scores; Mobara misses; Nthete scores; Cale misses; Zungu scores;

Onyango, Langerman, Mbekile, Mphahlele, Schut (Nthete ET), Modise (Laffor 79’), Kekana, Mashego (Malajila 62’), Mashaba, Zungu, Billiat

Jaakkola, Mobara, Allie, Coetzee, Lebusa, Graham, Morris, Scott, Paulse, Mzwakali (Isaacs 60’), Norodien (Cale 57’).

– CAJ News









Short URL:

Posted by on May 16 2015. Filed under Featured, Finance, Finance & Banking, Football, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.