Chiefs lift trophy, Moroka Swallows survives relegation

Tefu Mashamaita, Kaizer Chiefs capatin

Tefu Mashamaita, Kaizer Chiefs capatin

PORT ELIZABETH, (CAJ News) – KAIZER Chiefs have been crowned the 2014 / 2015 Absa premiership champions following their emphatic 2-0 victory over Chippa United in a match played at Nelson Mandela Bay in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Two goals from Mandla Masngo and Zimbabwean international midfielder Willard Katsande were enough to see the log pacesetters clinch the title in this exciting encounter.

Amakhosi, as Kaizer Chiefs are affectionately called won the championship three games before the curtains could come down, but the sponsors only waited for the last match of the season in order to honour them.

On the other hand, AmaZulu Football Club have kissed goodbye to the Absa premiership league following a 2-1 defeat in the hands of Maritzburg United in a KwaZulu Natal derby at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Moroka Swallows, who many thought would kick the bucket survived the relegation by a whisker when veteran midfielder-cum-striker Siyabonga Nomvete scored the only goal of the day against Bloemfontein Celtic at Dobsonville Stadium in Soweto to throw the Soweto giant some lifeline.

– CAJ News





Short URL:

Posted by on May 9 2015. Filed under Featured, Football, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.