G20 leaders concerned at Ebola outbreak

G-20 leaders in Brisbane, Australia

G-20 leaders in Brisbane, Australia

PRETORIA – THE grouping of the world’s 20 biggest economies (G20), urged all countries to join in the mobilising resources to strengthen national, regional and global preparedness against the threat posed by infectious diseases.

This follows a meeting in Brisbane, Australia this past weekend where the leaders expressed concern about the Ebola outbreak in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

The scourge has claimed more than 5 000 lives.

“G20 members are committed to do what is necessary to ensure the international effort can extinguish the outbreak and address its
medium-term economic and humanitarian costs.

“We will work through bilateral, regional and multilateral channels, and in partnership with non-governmental stakeholders. We will share our experiences of successfully fighting Ebola with our partners, including promoting safe conditions and training for health care and relief workers.

“We will work to expedite the effective and targeted disbursement of funds and other assistance, balancing between emergency and longer-term needs,” read a statement from the G20 Leaders Summit.

“We invite those governments that have yet to do so to join in providing financial contributions, appropriately qualified and trained medical teams and personnel, medical and protective equipment, and medicines and

“While commending ongoing work, we urge greater efforts by researchers, regulators and pharmaceutical companies to develop safe, effective and affordable diagnostic tools, vaccines and treatments.

“We call upon international and regional institutions, civil society and the private sector to work with governments to mitigate the impacts of the crisis and ensure the longer-term economic recovery.”

The leaders said the Ebola outbreak illustrated the urgency of addressing longer-term systemic issues and gaps in capability, preparedness and
response capacity that exposed the global economy to the impacts of infectious disease.

The members of the G20 are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea,
Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.

– CAJ News






Short URL: http://cajnewsafrica.com/?p=2559

Posted by on Nov 17 2014. Filed under Africa & World, Featured, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.