New AFCON 2015 hosts announced

Equatorial Guinea president Theodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo left with Zimbabwean counterpart Robert Mugabe,

Equatorial Guinea president Theodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo (L) with Zimbabwean counterpart Robert Mugabe,

JOHANNESBURG – EQUATORIAL Guinea will host next year’s Africa Cup of Nations finals following the withdrawal of Morocco.

The hosts were confirmed after a meeting between President of Equatorial Guinea, Theodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, and his Confederation of African Football counterpart, Issa Hayatou.

Following “fraternal and fruitful” discussions, the Equatorial Guinea has agreed to host the tournament from January 17 to February 8, 2015.

“Therefore, the Executive Committee of CAF confirms that the Orange Africa Cup of Nations 2015 will be held in Equatorial Guinea on the dates agreed, and the national team of Equatorial Guinea is qualified for the final tournament as a representative of the country host,” CAF stated.

The four cities selected for the finals are Malabo, Bata, Mongomo and Ebebiyin.

The draw for the finals will take place on December 3 in Malabo.

Equatorial Guinea, located in Central Africa, co-hosted the 2012 edition with Gabon.

– CAJ News






Short URL:

Posted by on Nov 14 2014. Filed under Africa & World, Featured, Football, News, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.