CAF opens accreditation for AFCON hosts reveal

CAFSports Reporter
JOHANNESBURG – THE Confederation of African Football (CAF) has opened the media accreditation process for the press conference for the announcement of host countries for the 2019 and 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

Applications will be accepted until September 15 for the event scheduled for the African Union (AU) headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia five days later.

Algeria, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea and Zambia are the countries bidding to host the 32nd and 33rd editions of the Africa Cup of Nations.
CAF said interested media personnel are to fill application forms online and include a scanned copy of their press cards to provided emails.

It advised that international applicants are responsible for securing their own visas to Ethiopia. Morocco will host the 2015 edition.

It has not been decided which country will host the 2017 tourney after CAF announced Libya would no longer host the Africa Cup of Nations in 2017 owing to the unstable security situation in the country.

Consequently, the Secretary General of CAF, Hicham El Amrani, dispatched a circular on 23rd August, 2014 to all 54 member associations informing them of the decision and “opening bids for the hosting of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations.

“The designation of the Host for this competition will be made according to the statutory provisions of CAF, especially in conformity with articles 27 to 47 of the Regulations Governing the Application of CAF Statutes.

The CAF headquarters in Cairo will receive applications until September 30.

– CAJ News






Short URL:

Posted by on Aug 26 2014. Filed under Football, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.