Pools released for the Dala 7s

Sevens Rugby, Kenya

Sevens Rugby, Kenya

from ANTONY LANGAT in Nairobi, Kenya
NAIROBI – THE Kenya Rugby Union has released the pools for the upcoming Dala Sevens scheduled for the lakeside city of Kisimu.

According to the KRU, Kabras Sugar RFC and Eldoret who were relegated from the Division 1 competition at the season opening Kabeberi Sevens have been seeded first and second respectively.

“Owing to overwhelming response and interest from club sides, the Division 2 tournament will be a 20 team affair comprising of five pools of four teams each,” read a statement from the KRU.

It added that the top two sides at the close of this competition will be promoted to the Division 1 competition at the next round of the Safaricom Sevens Series, the Driftwood Sevens set for 23/24 August in Mombasa.

Kabras will headline Pool E and are together with Bungoma Sharks, Stormers and MKU Thika. Eldoret are in Pool F with Brumbies, KCA and Kericho.

In Pool G are Thika RFC, Moi University, University of Eldoret and Kisii while Pool H are Comras, JKUAT, Kakamega and Homa Bay. In Pool I are Bungoma, Masaku, Masinde Muliro and Siaya. Majority of the teams that will take part in the Dala Sevens are University teams.

Webuye, Mbale and Mumias teams have been named by the KRU as standby teams in the Dala Sevens tourney scheduled for the weekend.

CAJ News





Short URL: http://cajnewsafrica.com/?p=867

Posted by on Aug 5 2014. Filed under Rugby, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.