UN envoy lauds focus on youth employment creation

Mary Robinson

UN envoy to Great Lakes, Mary Robinson

from MARIA MACHARIA in Nairobi, Kenya
NAIROBI – MARY Robinson, the outgoing United Nations Secretary-General Special Envoy for the Great Lakes region, praised regional leaders for their commitment to addressing youth unemployment.

She addressed the just-ended Summit of the International Conference on the
Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) in Nairobi.

The event was held to address the question of youth unemployment and to make recommendations to mitigate its effects on individual countries and the region where over half of the population is made up of young people and unemployment rate is around 34 percent.

“This extraordinary Summit represents the culmination of much hard work and reflects progress in regional cooperation, which I am very pleased to see.

“I congratulate the Heads of State and Government for dedicating time and resources to reflect on Youth Employment, a critical requirement for conflict reduction and economic development advocated by the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework for the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Great Lakes region.

“It is important that it becomes a Framework of Hope for young men and women in the Region,” Robinson, the former Ireland President, said.

“In a world in which ‘older men declare war’… and ‘the youth have to fight and die’, decades of conflicts in the region have exacted unacceptable toll on young people with millions dead and many more without hope.

“As we make efforts to bring about durable peace, security and recovery in the region, it is only fair and appropriate that we address the issue of youth employment,” Robinson added.

The special summit on the “Fight against Youth Unemployment through
Infrastructure Development and Investment Promotion” saw the participation
of Presidents Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya, as the event host, and Yoweri Museveni of Uganda.

“Other participants included youth representatives of the ICGLR member countries, as well as representatives of the African Union, the African Development Bank, the World Bank, the International Labor Organization, and several members of the diplomatic corps present in Kenya.

The Member States of the ICGLR include 12 core countries, namely Angola,
Burundi, Kenya, Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

– CAJ News






Short URL: http://cajnewsafrica.com/?p=658

Posted by on Jul 25 2014. Filed under Africa & World, Featured, National, News, Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Connect to CAJ News on Facebook

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Photo Gallery

Log in
All material © CAJ News Africa. Material may not be published or reproduced in any form without prior written permission.